The MSSP Year 3 & 4 Challenge Run took place at Joseph Hood Recreation Ground on Thursday 20 April 2017, and this year’s event was greeted with another fantastic turn out. 32 schools from across the Borough of Merton took part, with the majority of schools bringing both a year 3 and a year 4 team. This meant that over 200 children competed in each of the four races. While it was evident that the majority of children’s motivation to compete was to test themselves on the energy sapping two lap circuit, there were those individuals however who were looking to win their race an attain a medal.

Year 3 was the first year group to make their way onto the circuit. Both the girls and the boy’s races were a tense affair with not much separating the leaders from the rest of the pack who were hot on their heels in pursuit. It was only on the last lap of each race that the front runners were able to gain some distance between themselves and the rest of the pack. A sprint finish therefore ensued for those children wanting to achieve a top 10 placing. In the girls race the battle for first place was fiercely contested by two runners from Hollymount and St John Fisher and in the Year 3 boy’s race, there was a three way battle for first place between St Matthew’s, Hollymount and Wimbledon Chase. A special mention must also be given to all spectating children and the large crowd of on looking parents and teachers. Together, everyone helped to create an electrifying atmosphere for all of the racers.

The Year 4 race was equally as impressive with both the boys and the girl’s race displaying some fantastic athleticism form all runners. The race winners in both of the races took an early lead from the start line and controlled the pace of the race through two laps all the way to the finish line. The second and third place finishers in each race were also not far behind but could not quite match the pace of the front-runners.

Individual Placing’s:

Year 3 Girls

Year 3 Boys

1st Place: Imogen Cockerell (Hollymount)

1st Place: Jai Bansoodeb (St Matthew’s)

2nd Place: Gloria Okugy (St John Fisher)

2nd Place: William Fuller (Hollymount)

3rd Place: Nicole Whelan (Malmesbury)

3rd Place: Benjamin Massey (Wimbledon Chase)

4th Place: Leah Wiseman (Dundonald)

4th Place: Mason Hallett (Aragon)

5th Place: Emma Lord (Bishop Gilpin)

5th Place: Freddie Dove (Wimbledon Chase)

6th Place: Honor Sanders (Wimbledon Chase)

6th Place: Deniz Kilic (Hollymount)

7th Place: Annie Price (Hollymount)

7th Place: Alexander Creed (Bishop Gilpin)

8th Place: Zenda Kim (Wimbledon Chase)

8th Place: Jonno Van Graan (Hillcross)

9th Place: Olivia Johnson (Aragon)

9th Place: Ya Vuz Dinc (Aragon)

10th Place: Amy Hoffges (Wimbledon

10th Place: Bruno Tall (Pelham)

Year 4 Girls

Year 4 Boys

1st Place: Erin Speed (Bishop Gilpin)

1st Place: Aidan Golding (Sacred Heart)

2nd Place: Coral Duckworth-Crowe (St John Fisher)

2nd Place: Christopher Cull (Aragon)

3rd Place: Chloe Halsall (Bishop Gilpin)

3rd Place: Enzo Brown (Bishop Gilpin)

4th Place: Bella Cho (Wimbledon Chase)

4th Place: Jasper Judd (Bond)

5th Place: Zoe Brown (Holy Trinity)

5th Place: Chadi Falla (Holy Trinity)

6th Place: Miela Sinnerton Carter (Hillcross)

6th Place: Jack Jarvis (Dundonald)

7th Place: Penelope Alexandre Epivent (Holy Trinity)

7th Place: Pancho Panchev (Bishop Gilpin)

8th Place: Kira Edwards (Sacred Heart)

8th Place: Tyrell Ejakita (Aragon)

9th Place: Izzy Ward (Aragon)

9th Place: Wassiem Ahmed (Benedict)

10th Place: Matilda Tozzi (Sacred Heart)

10th Place: Hugo Dulson (St Matthews)


Congratulations to every child who took part in today’s races. Your effort and determination throughout the day was outstanding – well done to all of you!


A final thank you must also be made to Sue Taylor and her team from Links Primary for organising such a fantastic event. Furthermore, a big thank you to Rutlish School for providing the sports leadership team who did a superb job in making sure the event ran so smoothly.

Result or News