On Friday 14th June, sixteen schools from across Merton competed in the Year 5/6 Best Team Kwik Cricket Finals held at Old Ruts Sports Ground. Each team had qualified from their cluster and had the opportunity to become Merton Champions and represent Merton at the Surrey Kwik Cricket Finals or at the London Youth Games.

Each school was drawn in a group based on their cluster and where they finished in their cluster events.

Pool A

Pool A consisted of St Matthews, Abbotsbury, William Morris and The Priory. The first game demonstrated how close this pool was as St Matthews and The Priory both put on superb fielding displays. There was just six runs in it, as St Matthews claimed victory. The Priory seemed to be the big hitters of the group scoring the most runs over their three matches, hitting an incredible 72 runs from 32 balls. The bowling from Abbotsbury troubled opposing batsman and William Morris fielding displays kept them in each match they played.

The pool finished as follows:

1st St Matthews

2nd The Priory

3rd Abbotsbury

4th William Morris



Pool B


Pool B consisted of Pelham, Aragon, Malmesbury and Lonesome. Outstanding batting and fielding ensured Pelham had the best start to Pool B by overcoming Aragon in the first game of the group. Aragon then went on to score big in both their next fixtures to ensure they finished second in the group. Lonesome battled in each game and only narrowly lost in their match with Pelham. Malmesbury claimed a crucial victory over Lonesome in the closest game of the group to take third spot.


The pool finished as follows:


1st Pelham

2nd Aragon

3rd Malmesbury

4th Lonesome



Pool C


Pool C consisted of The Sherwood, Bishop Gilpin, St John Fisher and Morden. The Sherwood and Bishop Gilpin opened the group in what was an incredibly close match and both teams played superbly to give us a taste of the excitement that was to follow. It was Bishop Gilpin who took the most wickets though to claim victory by 7 runs. St John Fisher then matched this great bowling display to defeat Morden in another tight contest. The Sherwood batted excellently scoring some nice boundaries to take their score to 231 against Morden to win by an impressive 25 runs. Bishop Gilpin continued their solid early form to win all 3 of their matches to guarantee top spot.


The pool finished as follows:


1st Bishop Gilpin

2nd The Sherwood

3rd St John Fisher

4th Morden



Pool D


Pool D consisted of St Peter & St Paul, Stanford, Holy Trinity and Poplar. St Peter & Paul and Stanford played out a tremendous opening match with both fielding teams restricting the batters to a few runs. In the end Stanford came out on top by 4 runs. Holy Trinity and Poplar had a very close match where wickets tumbled. A strong batting display from both sides kept the match close but it was Poplar who emerged victorious.  Stanford fought hard in each match and produced moments of quality in their games, earning another impressive win over Poplar this time with 217-207 score. Holy Trinity were continuing to play well and their batting came to the fore against St Peter & Paul, which proved decisive in the group standings as they scored 241 which took them to first place in the group.


1st Holy Trinity

2nd Stanford

3rd Poplar

4th SS Peter & Paul



The afternoon saw the winner of each pool compete for places 1st-4th; second in each pool compete for 5th-8th; third in each pool compete for 9th-12th and fourth in each pool compete for 13th-16th. As each game was played you could see the standard of cricket rising. Bigger sixes were being struck; stunning catches were being taken and accurate bowling saw wickets tumble. Games were thrilling for the spectators, none more so than the final between Bishop Gilpin and St Matthews. St Matthews batted first and were quickly reduced to a score in the 190s as they lost a wicket in the first over. Some nice boundaries then put them back on track but every time it looked like St Matthews were going to get ahead, Bishop Gilpin pinned them back by taking a wicket. By the end of the innings though they had managed to record a score of 215, which gave them something to hold on to. In contrast Bishop Gilpin had a solid start scoring consistently. However a loss of a couple of wickets meant they had to increase their run rate if they were to reach their target. It was incredibly tight going into the last over and it could have went either way, but with the very last ball, St Matthews took another wicket and secured victory and the title of Merton Borough Champions.


Well done to St Matthews for winning the event and they will now go on to represent Merton at the Surrey Cricket County Finals competition. Also well done to Bishop Gilpin for finishing runners up and they will now go on to represent Merton at the London Youth Games Cricket Finals.


  1. St Matthew
  2. Bishop Gilpin
  3. Holy Trinity
  4. Pelham
  5. Aragon
  6. The Sherwood
  7. The Priory
  8. Stanford
  9. Poplar

10. Malmesbury

11. St John Fisher

12. Abbotsbury

13. William Morris

14. SS Peter & Paul

15. Morden

16. Lonesome


It was fantastic to hold the competition at Old Ruts CC – a great venue! We were fortunate to have 12 superb Rutlish leaders who officiated all matches confidently and knowledgably. Finally, it was wonderful to see all players and managers play/watch the game with the right attitude – always shaking hands after matches, supporting one another and enjoying what they were doing. Our REFSPECT winners today were Holy Trinity for the team award. They were positive throughout, applauding the opposing team, shaking hands and congratulating the opposition even when they lost. A great demonstration of fair play, sportsmanship and etiquette combined with fantastic team work and effort meant they were a credit to their school. Well done to everyone involved.

Result or News