Tuesday 23rd May saw all eleven Raynes Park schools take part in the Cluster Year 5/6 Kwik Cricket competition held at Old Rutlishians Cricket Club. Conditions were near perfect for some high scoring cricket with players greeted with both sunshine and a light breeze. After the tournament brief, schools were split into two groups, playing two mini-leagues. The top two teams at the end of the group stages would then go on to represent the Raynes Park Cluster at the Borough Finals on Friday the 9th May 2017.

Group 1 consisted of six teams. All of these teams demonstrated some impressive batting and fielding, which contributed to an extremely tense final round of games with three teams finishing on equal points. Sacred Heart and Hatfeild both started strongly, scoring freely during their batting innings while Aragon also displayed some accurate bowling and well organised fielding in the slips. Merton Park’s best performance in the group stages came in their tense match with Aragon, winning this game by 25 runs which was down to a clinical batting performance in the final few overs. Joseph Hood also battled hard through the group stages and earned a well-deserved victory against Merton Park in the final few overs of this match. Hollymount were consistently impressive, winning all but one of their group matches. Their only loss came as a result of an inspired bowling performance by Sacred Heart, who won this tightly fought match by 2 runs.        

1.      Hollymount (12 points)

2.       Hatfeild (9 points) 1152 runs

3.      Sacred Heart (9 points) 1150 runs

4.      Aragon (9 points) 1133 runs

5.      Merton Park (3 points) 1134 runs

6.      Joseph Hood (3 point) 1068 runs

Group 2 was comprised of five teams who were equally able to display their impressive cricketing skills. West Wimbledon, although unable to register a win during the group stages did display some fine individual bowling as well as some solid batting, scoring a number of well taken 4’s in the majority of their matches. St John Fisher were equally resolute and fought hard in the group matches. Their standout performance came in their match against West Wimbledon, winning this game as a result of some clinical bowling and catches in the field. Both Hillcross and St Matthew’s were able to keep the pressure on Poplar with their players displaying some impressive batting as well as some consistently accurate bowling, however they were unable to stop Poplar from finishing the group stages un defeated – a very impressive statistic, especially when considering the high quality of the rest of the teams in the group.

1.       Poplar: 12 points

2.       Hillcross: 9 points

3.       St Matthew’s: 6 points

4.       St John Fisher: 3 points

5.       West Wimbledon: 0 points

After a short lunch break, teams played-off against one another to determine who would be acclaimed Raynes Park Kwik Cricket Cluster Champions for 2017.

West Wimbledon put everything into their last game and were able to beat Merton Park with a fine batting display. The match between Aragon and St John Fisher was an equally tight affair, with Aragon just managing to do enough to beat St John Fisher to take 7th place. St Matthew’s won their final game to claim 5th place with Hillcross holding their nerve to outscore an impressive Hatfeild side to claim 3rd place. The final was contested by arguably the two most consistent sides of the tournament, Polar and Hollymount. Both teams played fantastically in what was a nerve racking final. It was Poplar who came out on top to win the tournament as a result of their pin point accurate bowling. Credit to Hollymount who played their hearts out, but on this occasion could not do enough.

Credit must be given to all competing teams who helped create a fantastic event where players played matches with the right attitude – always shaking hands after matches, supporting one another and enjoying what they were doing. Congratulations to Sacred Heart who were this competitions team and individual REFSPECT winners for their high level of sportsmanship throughout the day – Well done!

An additional mention must go to Old Rutlishians Cricket Club for kindly hosting the competition using their brilliant facilities. A big thank you must also be given to Rutlish Sports Leaders who officiated matches confidently and knowledgably. We wish our four Raynes Park representatives the very best of luck at the Borough Finals on Friday 9th June 2017,back at the familiar stomping ground ofOld Ruts CC!

1.       Poplar

2.       Hollymount

3.       Hillcross

4.       Hatfeild

5.       St Matthew’s

6.       Sacred Heart

7.       Aragon

8.       St John Fisher

9.       West Wimbledon 

10.     Merton Park

11.     Joseph Hood

Result or News